Optimist Club of Jasper

Optimist Club of Jasper
Welcome to Our Website!

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

The STARs will come out! How about you?

L to R  (Students Seated/Teachers Standing)
Brad Rutledge/Sue Gibbons
Kyle Watters/Bobby Timms
Johnson Collins/Joe Wright
Jesse Brooks/Christi Hobgood
Andrew Haygood/Michael Oubre (STAR Student & Teacher)
Olivia Parker/Nikki Towery
Savannah Friedman/Gail Culbreth
Abygayle Gibson/Lisa Payne
Kari Henke/Robbie Cheatham
Ryan Evans/Lynn Cantrell

Optimist STAR Banquet Scheduled for March 5th

The 2015 STAR Banquet is set for Thursday evening, March 5th at Chattahoochee Technical College.  The Optimist Club of Jasper is the local sponsor of the STAR Program.  Andrew Haygood has been named the 2015 STAR Student of Pickens High School and he selected Mr.Michael Oubre as his STAR Teacher.

The PAGE STAR (Student Teacher Achievement Recognition) Program begins each year in participating high schools throughout Georgia when the STAR Student is named and chooses a STAR Teacher to share in this recognition.  The students and teachers are honored by their schools and receive recognition in their communities from one of the more than 165 statewide civic organizations and businesses that serve as local sponsors for the STAR Program. 

For over 25 years, the Optimist Club of Jasper has been the local sponsor of the STAR Program in Pickens County.   The local program under the Optimist sponsorship is the largest and most unique STAR Programs in this statewide event.  The Optimist not only recognizes the STAR Student and Teacher, but another 9 STAR Student and Teacher Finalists.  These ten Pickens High School seniors have achieved the highest point scores on the Scholastic Aptitude Test, known as the “SAT” and are in the top 10 percent of the senior class.  Each of the students in turn chose a teacher that has contributed the most to their achievements and academic success.   

The banquet will be held at 7:00 p.m. at Chattahoochee College, 100 Campus Drive, Jasper, Georgia.  The Woodbridge Inn has catered this event since the Optimist Club started this unique program and will again this year.  Anyone interested in attending the banquet should email the Optimist Club at pickensstar@etcmail.com. The cost to attend the banquet is $22.00 per person.

Ms. Cathy Cox, President of Young Harris College and former Georgia Secretary of State will be the guest speaker for this year’s banquet. 


The 2015 Star Student/Teacher & STAR Finalists are:

STAR Student                                STAR Teacher
Andrew Haygood                             Michael Oubre 

STAR Finalists                              STAR Teacher Finalists 
Jesse Brooks                                   Christi Hobgood
Johnson Collins                               Joe Wright
Ryan Evans                                     Lynn Cantrell
Savannah Friedman                        Gail Culbreth
Abygayle Gibson                             Lisa Payne
Kari Henke                                       Robbie Cheatham
Olivia Parker                                    Nikki Towery
Brad Rutledge                                  Sue Gibbons
Kyle Watters                                    Bobby Timms

No comments:

Post a Comment